Tuesday, January 28, 2014

And The Winner Is...ALA Announces Youth Media Awards and OHE Announces The Mock Caldecott Award!!!

Yesterday, while my students were hunkered down in their homes for our second polar vortex this winter, I was at home anxiously awaiting the big announcement!  The Caldecott and Newbery Awards, along with several others, were announced yesterday morning!   I was especially interested because my students had a clear preference for which book they wanted to win the Caldecott award this year.  I had prepared them that we might not have narrowed it down to the potential winner and we were much less likely to choose the actual winner, but we had such a great time evaluating and voting for our choice.

The winner of the 2014 Caldecott Medal is... Locomotive by Brian Floca.   Caldecott Honor Medals were given to Flora and the Flamingo by Molly Idle, Journey by Aaron Becker and Mr. Wuffles by David Wiesner (This is Mr. Wiesner's fourth Caldecott!!).

Oak Hills students loved these books!  But they chose a different book in our Mock Caldecott.  During the week leading up to the Caldecott announcement, when it finally warmed up enough for us to attend school, my students and I looked at 18 different books (including Locomotive, Journey, Mr. Wuffles and Flora and the Flamingo) and then voted on which books we felt should win based on the Caldecott Criteria.  (See my blog post about our vote...Oak Hills Student Vote In Our Own 2014 Mock Caldecott)   It was such a tough choice!  Students considered their choices very carefully.

The overwhelming winner of the prestigious 2014 Oak Hills Elementary Mock Caldecott is....  The Day the Crayons Quit by Drew Daywalt.